webinar register page

Taxing Crime: A Whole-of-Government Approach to Fighting Corruption, Money Laundering and Tax Crimes
Taxing Crime: A Whole-of-Government Approach to Fighting Corruption, Money Laundering and Tax Crimes
The World Bank-UNODC Stolen Asset Recovery (StAR) Initiative and the Institute for Austrian and International Tax Law is hosting this event to further disseminate their joint publication on inter-agency cooperation titled, Taxing Crime: The Whole-of-Government Approach to Fighting Corruption, Money Laundering and Tax Crimes, which was published earlier this year. The report focuses on the benefits of interagency cooperation between tax authorities and law enforcement agencies working on preventing, detecting, and recovering the illicit financial flows (IFFs) derived from tax evasion, corruption, and money laundering. Please join us for an engaging discussion.

9.00 – 9.10am ET
3.00 – 3.10pm CET
Introduction to the joint World Bank, UNODC, WU GTPC project on Tax and good governance

Speakers:
• Emile Van Der Does De Willebois, Coordinator StAR Initiative
• Ana Cebreiro, Senior Economist (Tax), World Bank (Author)
• Jeffrey Owens, Director of the WU Global Tax Policy Center at the Institute of Austrian and International Tax Law, Vienna University of Economics and Business, WU (Author)

9.10 – 9.30am ET
3.10 – 3.30pm CET
Promoting a whole of Government approach in countering IFFs

Speakers:
• Jean Pierre, Senior Financial Sector Specialist, World Bank (Author)
• Siddhesh Rao, Phd candidate and research associate, WU Global Tax Policy Center at the Institute of Austrian and International Tax Law, Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU) (Author)

9.30 – 10.15am ET
3.30 – 4.15pm CET
Fighting tax crime, money laundering and corruption: International partnerships and Practical cases

Speakers:
• Yara Esquivel, Senior Financial Sector Specialist, World Bank (Author)
• Dominic Kengara, Chief Manager, Investigations & Enforcement Department, Kenya Revenue Authority
• Ireen Enid Namulembwa, Supervisor Tax Investigations, Uganda Revenue authority
• Paul Keyton /Preeya Raghoonundun, Director/Assistant Director, Integrity Reporting Services Agency, Mauritius

Nov 28, 2022 03:00 PM in Vienna

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: WU STAR Event on taxing crime.